How to Eat more Veges and Fruits II- Vegetable Rice (vegan)

img_05771.jpg

I came up with this recipe, on a Sunday while attempting to meal prep without doing my weekly groceries. Basically, as someone who is quite conscious about the environment I was researching means of making my lifestyle a lot more sustainable. I had always been obsessed with minimalism and found my self in a YouTube loop of watching videos on minimalism over and over again.

After watching uncountable amounts of videos on people who basically live a zero waste lifestyle, I decided to go through my freezer and use the ingredients I had in my freezer to meal prep. I found, frozen corn, frozen peas and frozen chopped spinach in my freezer and came up with this recipe.

Luckily, a lot of what I had in my freezers were veges which was great as I always try to ensure that my meals account for my daily five a day, in order to prepare for days when I’m too busy to make smoothies in the morning or make a salad.

If you are using stock cubes read the Tips on recipe variation


Serves four

img_05781.jpg
Vege rice served with a black bean chicken quesadilla

Ingredients 

1 1/4 cup of brown rice (225g)

1 cup of frozen peas (150g)

1 cup of frozen corn (175g)

1 1/2 cup of kidney beans (270g)

1 cup of frozen chopped spinach thawed (160g)

1 medium onion 

1-2 table spoons chilli flakes

500ml of vegetable, beef or chicken stock or 1 stock cube

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

salt 

black pepper

2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 cumin

olive oil


img_05761.jpg


  1. Thaw all the vegetables.
  2. Place the stock in a pan and add the rice. Cover the pan and boil on medium heat until the water is dried, about 15 minutes.
  3.  Chop the onions as finely as you can get it.
  4. Heat a pan and add about 2 table spoons of oil (any vegetable oil without a strong flavouring, like sesame oil) will do just fine. Oil test.
  5. Add the finely chopped onions to the pan and saute on medium heat for about 2 minutes.
  6. Stir in the cumin and chilli, then add the garlic and saute for about 30 seconds on low-medium heat.
  7. Add the vegetables and beans and stir for another 2 minutes on medium heat.
  8. Stir in the rice and paprika.
  9. Taste the mixture and add more salt and black pepper until it is to your taste.
  10. Add 200 ml of water cover the pan and steam on low heat. Keep adding water until the rice is to your desired texture.

 

Tips

  1. If using stock cubes, add the cube to about 500ml of water and stir using a fork.
  2. You can use a dutch oven, if using a dutch oven, place in the oven after adding a further 200 ml of water.
Leave a Reply

